Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Tinubu, Akpabio, Wike, Others to Honour NSE’s First Female President at Investiture Ceremony

NSE President

Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) is set to welcome Nigeria’s President Bola Tinubu, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, House of Representatives Speaker Hon. Abbas Tajudeen, Minister of the FCT Nyesom Wike, and other top government functionaries to the investiture of its 34th president, Engr Margaret Oguntala.

The event, which will be held in the International Conference Centre, Abuja, on 20 January 2024, will see Oguntala publicly recognized and celebrated as the first female president of the association in its 65-year history. Although Oguntala has assumed office as president, the investiture is symbolic, in keeping with the association’s tradition and a formal recognition of the elected officers of the association.

In a formal statement, the NSE said, “It’s a new dawn in the history of the Nigerian Society of Engineers, as the 33rd president, Engr. Tasiu Sa’ad Gidari-Wudil, hands over the baton of leadership to the 34th and first female president in the 65-year history of the NSE.”

The statement further reads, “Mrs. Margaret Aina Oguntala FNSE, popularly known as the ‘Erelu Worldwide’ and regarded as the mother of modern-day engineering in Nigeria by young engineers in Nigeria, took the engineering world by storm when she, against all odds, broke the 65-year monopoly of male engineers as president of the prestigious association.”

Oguntala, an NSE veteran, has been a member since 1996 and a fellow since 2010. She has served in various capacities, including as Chairman of the Ikeja branch between 2010 and 2011, National Exco member in 2012 and 2013, Vice President in 2014, 2015, and 2016, and Deputy President from 21 December 2021. She is also the founder of BAMSAT Nigeria Limited and a board director of several companies.

Speaking on her emergence as president, Oguntala said, “The journey to this office for me has been fueled by a quest to serve with a clear purpose, inspired by the unwavering support I have enjoyed by members of the association and powered by the strong conviction that service is a continuous journey, not a destination.”

She also promised to lead with an inclusive and progressive mindset. “Our administration will lead with an inclusive and progressive mindset; pursuing programs that promote the technological advancement of our dearly beloved country as well as create the desired visibility for the society in the appropriate corridors,” she said.

The Deputy President, Engr. Ali Alimasuya Rabiu, will also be inaugurated at the investiture, alongside six Vice-Presidents namely; Joseph Sunday Adebayo (south-west), Danladi Ushiki Adamu (north-east), Rose James Madaki (north-west), Felicia Nnenna Agubata (South-east), Bemogho Ofoeyeno (south-south), and Ademola Isaac Agoro (south-west).

The new national executive committee also comprises Ibrahim Hammadikko (north-east), Aliyu Dutsinma Ibrahim (north-east), Rachel Serumun Ugye (north-central), Ndifon Mbeh Agbiji (south-south), Ibrahim Aghadike (south-east), and Olumide Ogundipe (south-west).

Greg Obiajulu Ashibuogo, Clara Chizoba Anyanwu-Amadi, and Omotola Adenike Adetona will be recognized as statutory audit committee members.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like


House of Representatives has resolved to probe the alleged unremitted N1.8 trillion and $342 million tax revenue owed to the federation by Multichoice Group....


Chukwuemeka Fred Agbata, CFA, MD/CEO of Anambra State ICT Agency, has championed a transformative approach to innovation in the civil service. His insights, shared...


Paul Pogba, former Manchester United midfielder, has reportedly been handed a four-year ban from football after failing a drugs test last August. The 30-year-old...


Mastercard and MTN Group Fintech have signed an agreement to provide all MTN MoMo customers with payment cards. In a joint statement on Thursday,...