Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Senate President Lawan wins Yobe North Senatorial seat

Ahmed Lawan

Sen. Ahmed Lawan of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Yobe North Senatorial District election in Yobe.

Declaring the results in Gashua on Monday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Omolala Aduoju of Federal University, Gashua, said Lawan scored 91,318 votes.

”Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest votes, Alhaji Ahmed Lawan of the APC is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” she said.

She said Lawan’s closest opponent, Sheriff Abdullahi, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 22,849, while the New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) candidate, Alhaji Garba Umar, scored 7,210 votes.

Aduoju said Action Democratic Party (ADP) scored three votes even though the party did not field a candidate in the election.

”The total votes cast in the election is 126,677 out of which 122,136 were valid and 4,541 votes rejected,” she said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the district comprises of Machina, Nguru, Bade, Karasuwa, Jakusko and Yusufari Local Government Areas.(NAN)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


As part of activities to celebrate International Women’s Day and given the dire need to position young women for global participation in the gig...


Former Imo state governor, Emeka Ihedioha has announced his withdrawal from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)’s governorship primary in Imo state. Ihedioha was screened...


Fez Delivery, a leading logistics and delivery company, announced its $1 million seed round today. Ventures Platform led the funding round, with participation from...


The Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PENGASSAN) has said that after the removal of subsidy has been effected by the...